Introduction

Here I am, blogging again. Since I have read more in the last year than any other year of my life (and have another year like that ahead of me–welcome to life as a graduate student in English), I have decided to make this a place where I share my thoughts about my reading. Between a novel per class per week, a dozen blogs and news websites, and a Facebook newsfeed, trying to absorb lasting knowledge from my reading can feel like trying to drink from a fire hose. But this year, I am attempting to step away from the overwhelming flow of new information long enough to reflect on what I am learning. My hope is that the long, laborious task of weaving knowledge and contemplation together will yield a rich carpet of wisdom for the path before me.

“By wisdom a house is built, and by understanding it is established; by knowledge the rooms are filled with all precious and pleasant riches.” –Proverbs 24:3-4

“Time tells the truth.” –Chinese proverb

“Keep the earth below my feet
For all my sweat, my blood runs weak
Let me learn from where I have been
Keep my eyes to serve and hands to learn

So I was still
I was under your spell
When I was told by Jesus all was well
So all must be well
Just give me time”
–“Below My Feet,” Mumford and Sons

P.S. For anyone interested, my past endeavors in the blogosphere include posts from my semester at Oxford University in the Autumn of 2011 (http://jennatoxford.blogspot.com/)
and a few posts from my first year at grad school
(http://jenniferatcgu.blogspot.com/)

Leave a Reply

